Transfer Planning

Transfer Planning

Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs)

Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) include public and private, two-year and four-year colleges and universities that were established prior to 1964 for the primary purpose of educating African-Americans who were prohibited from attending predominantly white institutions of higher education.

The majority of HBCUs are located in the Southeastern states, the District of Columbia, and the Virgin Islands.  HBCUs comprise 3 percent of U.S. institutions of higher education, yet they enroll 16 percent of all African-American students in higher education and award 24 percent of all baccalaureate degrees earned by African-Americans nationwide. 
(Based on information from the U.S. Department of Energy.)

White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges & Universities

HBCU U.S. Map  

National Association For Equal Opportunity In Higher Education (NAFEO)
NAFEO was founded in 1969 to provide an international voice for the nation’s HBCUs; to place and maintain the issue of equal opportunity in higher education on the national agenda; to advocate policies, programs and practices designed to preserve and enhance HBCUs; and to increase the active participation of blacks at every level in the formulation and implementation of policies and programs in American higher education.

Common Black College Application (CBCA) Students can complete the CBCA and apply to any number of the 51 current Member Institutions at one time for a one-time nominal fee. The CBCA creates the potential opportunity for students to receive acceptance letter, financial aid packages and scholarship offers from several different colleges.

Transfer Planning
Contact Information

Last Updated: 9/12/17